Beauty Store Business magazine - January, 2020

ICMAD's 2012 CITY Awards Program Is Now Open for Entries

Independent Cosmetic Manufacturers and Distributors

The Independent Cosmetic Manufacturers and Distributors is now accepting nominations for its seventh annual Cosmetic Innovators of The Year—CITY Awards, the trade association announced this week.

The prestigious awards honor the year's most innovative products, packaging and advertising/marketing concepts from the past year. Past CITY Awards winners have included IT Cosmetics, Jane Iredale Mineral Cosmetics and Clarisonic.

“The CITY Awards celebrate the creativity, effort and innovation shown by our member companies and their dedicated teams," says Pamela Jo Busiek, CEO and president of ICMAD. "These awards truly represent everything that makes the cosmetics business so dynamic.”

The 2012 winners will be a part of the first-ever CITY Beauty Trunk Show. The brand-new initiative will give winners a platform to display their award-winning products at national indie retailers, including Apothia,, C.O. Bigelow, Henri Bendel, Ron Robinson’s and Skins 6|2.

Specific criteria must be followed per award category for eligibility. In particular, all products must have first shipped, and have had marketing and advertising programs initiated between April 1, 2011, and March 31, 2012. And all entries must be in by April 30. (April 15 is the early-bird deadline.) Beauty-industry advertising, sales and marketing professionals will judge the entries.

Finalists for the awards will be announced in mid May, and the category winners will be revealed during ICMAD’s 39th Annual Meeting and CITY Awards gala dinner on Wednesday, June 20, (6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.) at the Manhattan Penthouse in New York City. Janet Gurwitch, creator of Laura Mercier Cosmetics, and Busiek will present the 13 winning awards.

For more information about the CITY Awards program, visit ICMAD or contact Marilyn Mages, CAE, marketing/communications coordinator, at the Illinois-based association, 800.334.2623.

[Logo: Courtesy of Independent Cosmetic Manufacturers and Distributors]