Beauty Store Business magazine - January, 2020

Andis Announces Premiere Orlando Men's Grooming Competition Winners

Licensed cosmetologists and students competed in a variety of events during the Premiere Orlando international beauty event held June 1-3, 2018. Sponsored by Andis Company, a leading manufacturer of handheld tools to cut, trim and style hair, the five competitions included Fantastic Fades (professional event and student event), Limit-Free Style (professional event and student event) and Lioness (women-only competition).

Contestants were challenged to showcase their finest fades and creative visions. Winners were awarded cash prizes based on technique, originality, style and tool usage.

“We were extremely impressed with the caliber of talent
that joined us across the five Premiere Orlando
International Beauty Event competitions to showcase the art of men’s grooming,” said Jessica Zeinstra, global education manager at Andis. “In our third year, we were even more excited to host our first women-only competition, Lioness, that drew some of the fiercest female barbers and cosmetologists from around the country.”

The winners of the Fantastic Fade professional division included: Miguel Vega (@miguelshulus), Robert Smith (@wardellthebarber) and Joel Edwards (@joel.the.alabama.barber), and the student division included: Marcos Delgado (@marc_delgado_), Lisandro Zapata (@_lisandro.z) and Frederick Dublin.

The Limit-Free Style competition professional division winners included: Lindon West (@moosekutz), Jashley Green (@kokodabarber) and Ricardo Chavez (@revampricky). The student division winners included: Lisandro Zapata (@_lisandro.z), Jalen Kendrick (@cloutcreater) and Rayon Romero (@rayscissorhands).

The first ever Lioness competition featuring female barbers included: Joenia Guerrero (@_royalvisions_), Janali Montaivo (@sky_queenofcutz) and Gabriella Garcia (@lil_miss.gabby).

Professional winners received $400, while the second and third place finishers received $300 and $200, respectively. Student winners received $125, while the second and third place finishers received $100 and $75, respectively.